gas masks Riveters African American Soldiers 1 The pilots doughboys with mules African American Officers pilots in dress uniforms Mule Rearing

Welcome to the Georgia WWI Commission

"To Honor, Educate and Commemorate"

Georgia WW1 Remembrance Ceremony at the State Capitol

October 6, 2015

GA First Lady Poem Reading     

     Members of the Georgia World War I Centennial Commission attended a remembrance ceremony at the State Capitol on the occasion of the visit of Prime Ministers Mark Rutte from the Netherlands and Geert Bourgeois from Flanders.  In addition to remarks by both prime ministers and Gov. Nathan Deal, Georgia’s First Lady, Mrs. Sandra Deal, read the poem “In Flanders Fields” by John McCrae.

Georgia First Lady Sandra Deal reads the poem “In Flanders Fields”: 

GA First Lady Poem Reading 2

Gov. Deal and Prime Ministers Rutte and Bourgeois pay respects at the Georgia Veterans Memorial at the State Capitol:

Paying Respects Otranto

Governor Deal signs bill creating the Georgia World War I Centennial Commission

May 5, 2015

Deal Bill Signing2

    In a ceremony in his State Capitol office, Georgia Governor Nathan Deal signed into law legislation creating the Georgia World War I Centennial Commission.  Among those present were Sen. Hunter Hill (R-Atlanta); Rep. John P. Yates (R-Griffin); Dr. Monique Seefried of Atlanta, who is U.S. World War I Centennial Commission representative for Georgia; and Lt. Col. Michael Ivy, Professor of Military Science and Army ROTC at Georgia Institute of Technology, among others.

Georgia World War I Centennial Commission Donors

vfw logo

Delta Logo

Gulfstream Logo

Georgia Power

John H. and Wilhelmina D. Harland Foundation, Inc.

Numerous generous individuals


Georgia World War I Centennial Commission

Contact: georgia@worldwar1centennial.org

Commission Members

  • Mr. Scott Delius, Atlanta
  • Mr. Rick Elder, Sylvania
  • Mr. Samuel Friedman, Atlanta
  • Mr. Thomas Lacy, Peachtree City (vice-chair)
  • Dr. John Morrow, Athens
  • Dr. Billy Wells, Dahlonega (Chair)

Executive Director:

Dr. Thomas H. Jackson, Jr., University System of Georgia

Federal Commissioner for Georgia

Dr. Monique Seefried, Atlanta

Commission Associates

  • Dr. Lamar Veatch, University of North Georgia
  • Mr. Keith Antonia, University of North Georgia


Next Meeting:

Date to be determined

Future Meetings:

None schedule at this time.

"Pershing" Donors

$5 Million +

Founding Sponsor
PritzkerMML Logo

Starr Foundation Logo

The Lilly Endowment